top of page
  • Writer's pictureGEMN

"HARDSTONE PSYCHO" Don Toliver Review/First Impression










  1. "KRYPTONITE" 7.8/10

  2. "TORE UP" Hard-hitting bass and rock electric guitar sample 8.1/10

  3. "BROTHER STONE" 6.8/10

  4. "ATTITUDE" 7.5/10

  5. "Bandit" 8.1/10

  6. "GLOCK" Whitney Huston (Sample) 7.9/10

  7. "ICE AGE" feat Travis Scott 7.6/10

  8. "4X4" 7.6/10 Part II was much better.

  9. "PURPLE RAIN" 7.8/10 (feat Future)

  10. "NEW DROP" Club Vibes 8.2/10

  11. "BACKSTREETS" 7.8/10 Great and Catchy Chorus

  12. "DEEP IN THE WATER" 7.7/10 (Kali Uchis Pregnancy.)

  13. "INSIDE" Feat Travis Scott 7.8/10

  14. "5 TO 10" 8.3/10

  15. "LAST LAUGH" 8/10

  16. "HARDSTONE NATIONAL ANTHEM" 7.9/10



Overall Rating: 8.1/10

"HARDSTONE PSYCHO" matches the description of this project. It is a crazy experience. The use of its hard rock samples on tracks like "Bandit" and "Tore Up" contrasts in sound with other tracks like "New Drop" and "5 to 10" which have more club vibes and an emotional beat. This is a huge highlight for me since I was expecting this album like "Bandit" but had a diverse sound and a change in aesthetic, which I can appreciate. The writing of Don Toliver stays pretty consistent, (mainly about girls and drugs) which is shown on the Track "Purple Rain" featuring Future. But I guess any track with Future, you're just bound to have a rap song of that exactly. The weakest song for me is "Brother Stone." Don't get me wrong, Kodack Black did a solid job, but his chorus got annoying and kept that aggressive tone and nothing changed throughout the track. The Travis Scott features are delivered and my favorite has to be inside from those features is inside. I already mention these tracks but for me "5 to 10" and "New Drop" are my top 2 favorites. One track that sorta also disappointed me was "Backstreets" feat Teezo Touchdown. It had a great chorus from Don and a solid backup chorus from Teezo, I was hoping for a verse or a hook or just something more from Tezzo Touchdown.

But overall, it's a good album and Don pushed some boundaries with his sound, for that I'm giving this drop a decent 8.1/10

0 views0 comments

Comments


bottom of page