top of page
  • Writer's pictureGEMN

"Bando Stone and The New World" Album Review

Childish Gambino has released his final album, "Bando Stone and The New World." He had released a finished "3.15.20" a couple of months back and renamed "Atavista." A film is set to release as well, and some of the movie's dialogue is at the end of some of the songs. As always, I rate each track and give my overall rating. There are also just some notes beside the track, that just help me remember the track better. Also, this is my opinion and is subject to change lol. Bolded means my favorite track.


  1. "H3@RT$ W3RE M3@NT T0 F7¥" Dubsteppy 6.8/10

  2. "Lithonia" 8.2/10

  3. "Survive" 7/10

  4. "Steps Beach" 7.2/10

  5. "Talk My Shit" 8/10

  6. "Got To Be" Aggressive EDM Basses 7/10

  7. "Real Love" Happy Guitar Love song. 7.1/10

  8. "In The Night" Feat Jorja Smith & Amaarae Techno Vibes 7.5/10

  9. "Yoshinoya" 7.7/10

  10. "Can You Feel Me" Feat Legend 7.3/10

  11. "No Excuses" is a Dreamy but groovy aesthetic with soul/jazz groove and influence. 7.7/10

  12. "Crusin" Feat Yeat Emotional Cinematic Synths and Strings. 7.6/10

  13. "We Are God" 7.2/10

  14. "Running Around" Feat Foushee Pop Rock 7.5/10

  15. "Dadvocate" 7.8/10

  16. "Happy Survival" Groovy Tropical Vibes. Mostly Instrumental Track 6.8/10

  17. "A Place Where Love Goes" Techno Club Track. 7.4/10


Overall Rating: 7.6/10

Donald Glover returns with his final album under the name Childish Gambino and is also releasing a film with the same name. The album has various techno/dance tracks like "Got To Be" and the final track "A Place Where Love Goes." It also leads into some pop-rock such as tracks like "Lithonia" and "Running Around." The production is diverse but also maintains that Gambino Sound. Things take a turn on "Talk My Shit" which offers a dark trap atmosphere beat, and artists like Flo Mili and Amaarae. The track is mostly about flexing and calling out haters. I enjoy this track and is one of my favorite tracks off the album. It's a simple aggressive rap with verses and sounds that make it stand out. "In The Night" is also a catchy techno track that features Jorja Smith, who gives lovely vocals and a verse throughout the track. This album doesn't have a narrative or story on Gambino's praised album "Because The Internet," but it still touches on various topics, where Gambino goes off the track "Yoshinoya." He calls how rappers and even the indrustry is fake, and has a nice rap flow throughout the track. Gambino's son, Legend, is featured in "Can You Feel Me" and has this nice touching father and son moment, where Gambino talks to him and gives him some advice and his experience on fatherhood. It's a nice fun track and recites the alphabet in the background.

"No Excuses" is a dreamy/ambient track, and I would consider it an instrumental track since there are very few lyrics, but I still enjoy it. It has this groovy vibe with some jazz/soul influence. I appreciate this track because it kinda feels like a break or like an interlude, even though, technically it isn't but to me it is. "Happy Survival" follows a similar approach, with groovy percussions and a guitar lead. "Crusin" is a track featuring Yeat, which was pretty unexpected, but it worked. "Lithonia" has to best the track. It's just that track that offers such great vocals and emotion. I feel like I don't have to explain it/defend it.

Overall, I think it's an interesting and unique listening experience, just for me I was hoping just a little bit more, but considering it's the soundtrack for the upcoming film, it's pretty good. I'll give it somewhere a 7.6 - 7.8/10.

0 views0 comments

Comments


bottom of page